Untitled Page
Administration >>President and Director General
President and Director General

Prof. Dr. D. Swaminadhan,

Ph.D(England), D.Sc. FIE, FNAE
Chairman, Dr. D. Swaminadhan Research Foundation (DSRF)

Prof. Dr. D. Swaminadhan, is a distinguish educationist, engineer-scientist, researcher and a planner. He obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Liverpool (England). He worked as Additional Secretary in the University Grants Commission, New Delhi, as Vice-Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Hyderabad and as a Member, Planning Commission, Govt. of India. He was also a UNESCO Chair Professor, has nearly 40 years of experience in the field of higher education, engineering, technical and management education, research, educational planning and administration. He has a clear foresight about the dynamics of development of higher and technical education in the country.

Prof.Dr.D.Swaminadhan had the distinction of being the UNESCO International Consultant to his Majesty’s Government of Nepal and prepared the New Science & Technology Policy document for Nepal in January 1998. Under his chairmanship, the Task Group constituted by Prof. Dr.D.Swaminadhan Research Foundation, Hyderabad brought out a Draft New Technology Policy for India and submitted it to the Government of India in 1999. He visited Countries like United Kingdom, France, Finland and Nepal. In keeping with his specialisation in Bridge Engineering, Prof.Dr.D.Swaminadhan headed the National Bridge Research and Development Centre (NBRDC), Hyderabad as its Hon. Director. The Mission of this Centre is “To be a World Class Centre in Bridge R&D”.

Prof.Dr.D.Swaminadhan has many National and International awards to his credit which include Eminent Scientist of India Honour, National Unity Award, Rajiv Gandhi Excellence Award, International Man of the year 1996-97 Award and the Twentieth Century Award for Achievement. He has to his credit nearly a total of 120 publications, lecturers, talks, addresses and papers.

Prof.Dr.D.Swaminadhan is a Member of reputed professional bodies like: Fellow of Institution of Engineers (FIE); Fellow Indian National Academy of Engineers (FNAE); Fellow Andhra Pradesh Academy of Sciences (FAPAS); Chartered Engineer (C.Eng); Indian Society for Technical Education (MISTE) and Member, Indian Science Congress Association (MISCA).